Let’s face it! Hot oil treatments have been around forever. I’m sure like me, you have most likely had a few oil treatments for one reason or another, right? Well, when was the last time you treated your hair and scalp to a hot oil treatment? Have you had one since you colored your coils/curls? How about after your last protein treatment? Anytime during this last cold weather season? ….. Well, if you are like me, you haven’t. (Oh, the shame I feel as I am writing this). For those of you that have, I’m so proud (and slightly envious) of you! And for those who have never experienced this type of royal hair care, don’t worry it’s never too late. We can all benefit from this erstwhile treatment.

Why Do A Hot Oil Treatment

Helps Treat Dry, Itchy, Flaky Scalps

For those of us who wear our God given coil/curl we at one point or another may experience dry brittle hair, as well as a dry, itchy, and/or a flaky scalp. The perfect remedy, in most cases, is a hot oil treatment. The heated oil can instantly relieve these irritating symptoms and promote a healthy scalp.

Stimulates Growth

A good, oiled scalp massage helps to invigorate hair growth due to the increased blood flow to the scalp. Blood carries oxygen and nutrients to our scalp among its other duties. The fact that the oil is warm creates a very soothing feeling, increases the simulations flow, and softens the hair follicles and hair shafts for easy oil infusion, thus creating a more thoroughly moisturized and hydrated feel.

Increases Hair Manageability

The hot oil used for the treatment causes hair to soften, It also creates a coating around the hair shafts causing the hair to smooth out, reduce frizz and split ends, strengthen hair strands, and increases the slip effect.

I remember when I first big chopped and I was dealing with [scab hair], my hair was so dry, brittle, itchy, dull, and undefined. So I decided to do a hot oil treatment and the results were beyond gratifying. It was like my hair and scalp were relieved of a deprivation of love and nourishment or something. It was the first time I was able to see the glory of my naturally coiled crown. My scalp no longer looked white and flaky it became moisturized and normal in color. I no longer worried about scratching my head in fear of flakes. And the ITCH!! Oh, my love, the itch was GONE!….. I loved it so much that I performed a hot oil treatment once a week for the next 3-5 weeks until I saw that my hair did not need it that often anymore.

Which now, reminiscing about the benefits and the joy a hot oil treatment brings, I’m surprised that I have not performed one in a while, but I promise you as soon as my protective style comes down I will do it.

How to Apply a Hot Oil Treatment

There are a couple of ways that one could apply a hot oil treatment. One of the easiest ways to apply hot oil treatment is by using an applicator bottle. You would use a carrier oil such as Olive Oil, Avocado Oil, Castor Oil, or Sweet Almond Oil and if you would like you could include a drop or two of an essential oil, to ever 3 tablespoons of the carrier oil used. I like to use peppermint oil because of its cool stimulating, and itch relieving properties. Once you mix the amount of oil you feel necessary to cover your scalp and curls/coils into the applicator bottle you will now need to warm the oil up. The simplest way, I believe to do so, is by boiling some hot water and then placing the hot water in a heat resistant bowl. Then place the applicator bottle into the hot water, allowing the oil to heat up. Once the oil is warm, either by reaching a safe to apply temperature or by cooling down to it, you can began to apply the oil all over your scalp and hair. Then using the balls of your fingertips massage the oil into your scalp and use the palm of your hands to massage the oil into the shafts of your coils/curls. (Make sure to give gentle, necessary time on the tips of the hair where they tend to be weaker.) If you want to work the hot oil through the strands of your hair from root to tip, while detangling faster than what your fingers will provide, you can choose to use a coil/curl detangling hair tweezer brush. This type of brush could really help with coating every strand and smoothing out your coils.

After applying and massaging the oil through your scalp and hair, place a plastic cap over your hair and sit for 15-30 mins, allowing the oils to penetrate the follicles and hair shafts. For even better results, sit under a hooded dryer or steamer. After rinsing out the oil, apply your desired leave in conditioner and continue on with your LOC process or preferred styling method. 

oil applicator blog photo (1)As for how often you would need to perform a hot oil treatment is completely up to you. All naturals perform a hot oil treatment based on their own hair needs. It could range from weekly to quarterly or more, its all a preference.

When to Apply a Hot Oil Treatment

For me, the best time to apply a hot oil treatment is right after I wash my hair, but prior to a deep conditioning. This works best for me since my hair is free of dirt, excess oils, and product residue, which allows the hot oil treatment to penetrate the scalp and hair shafts effectively to retain moisture. If you feel that your hair may need a higher level of moisture due to having really dry hair, then you could also decide to perform the hot oil treatment after a deep conditioning treatment if you prefer. 

So, after reading about some of the benefits that a hot oil treatment will provide, who will join me in doing one on the next wash day? Afterall, “A Nourished Crown is a Noble Crown”.

With Love,

Precious @CoilyHairCare

 

References:

Featured Photo: Godisable Jacob. (2019). Women’s Pink Sweatshirt and Brown Plaid Skirt [photography], Retrieved From: https://www.pexels.com/photo/women-s-pink-sweatshirt-and-brown-plaid-skirt-794064/