One of the worst things that can happen to a great hair day is an itchy scalp. That cute defined curly/coily hairstyle could end up being a frizzy, matted mess in a few hours if your fingers are constantly rearranging your coils to get to the itch. And nothing is more annoying than the itch in a protective style (rolls eyes), UGH! Even if you can manage to get to the itch, its a possibility that you have broken several strands of hair, created frizz, rearranged the entire style, and /or you might even be ready to just throw the whole hairdo away for that itch relief!

I have been there, done that and had to figure out what to do before the ITCH killed my vibe.Itch dont kill my vibe

What I found out along my journey is that depending on the problem, it would determine which method I used in order to get rid of the itch.

If you’re having a persistent itch and looking for a way to disembarrass yourself of it, then one of the following hair care regimens I have used, may be what you’re looking for.

Co-Washing

There are some naturals that cleanse their hair with shampoo. As for me, I prefer the co-washing cleanse because I noticed that when I used to shampoo my hair would be stripped of oils causing my hair to become very dry and brittle. Not only would my hair be void of oils, but my scalp also. And I know it may seem as if all I would need to do is apply more oils or butters to my hair and scalp to replenish it, but doing just that, is not as effective as it may sound. And because of this, I choose co-washing my hair to avoid a dry scalp which could cause excessive itching.

If you are a natural that uses shampoo on a regular and feel as if a dry scalp is contributing to the itch, try co-washing in order to prevent stripping of all the oils and nutrients, yet still be able to clean and condition the scalp and hair.

Deep Conditioning

Another Way I boost moisture retention into my scalp to help avoid it becoming dry and itchy is by doing a DC (deep conditioning) treatment. A DC treatment is by far one of the most loving things you could do for your hair and is simple to perform. As for me, I use a half cup of the conditioner that I co-wash with, then I combine 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil, and a drop or two of Tea Tree Essential Oil, as my deep conditioning mixture. After I apply the mixture to my freshly co-washed hair, I put a plastic cap, or bag if I’m out of caps, (make it do what it do, improvision at its finest!), over my head and sit under the hooded dryer for 30 minutes.

Once I have completed the deep conditioning treatment, I rinse it out with lukewarm water, then I continue on to either an AVC rinse, the LOC process, or/and a Hot Oil Treatment.

Hot Oil Treatment

A Hot Oil Treatment can not only help lock in moisture, but it can also provide nourishment that is needed in order to get rid of and/or avoid an itchy scalp. If you have not noticed from several blogs, one of my favorite essential oils is Tea Tree Oil. One of the main reasons I prefer this oil is because of its antibacterial and anti-fungal properties.

Sometimes the itch on the scalp is not caused by dryness, but rather bacteria that may be growing due to the bacteria we have naturally transferred from our fingers and nails to our scalp. Tea Tree Oil is one of the least expensive essential oils and has done an amazing job at killing and keeping my added bacteria under control.

Other essential oils I like to use for their properties are Peppermint and Lavender Oils. Peppermint Oil has a cooling sensation and Lavender has calming properties. All of which can make your scalp feel blissful. ANYTHING other than the ITCH, right?

Daily Oiled Scalp Massage

oil applicator blog photo (2)
Oil in Applicator Bottle

Since the enjoyment of a Hot Oil Treatment is not something that can be performed every day, that does not mean the benefits of the oils can also not be. I have an applicator bottle that has a mix of Olive Oil, Castor Oil, Tea Tree Oil, and Peppermint Oil in it. At night, I will mist my hair with water, apply a very small amount of leave in conditioner, and apply the oil mix to my ends and scalp, massaging it in before I pineapple or band my hair. This process helps keep the itch away, not to mention, the stimulation promotes healthy scalp and hair growth too.

ACV Rinse

Early on in my natural hair journey, my scalp became VERY itchy and I could not figure out why. I washed and/or co-washed my hair regularly (5-7 days), I deep conditioned, and I would do hot oil treatments, but my scalp was still very itchy. Then one day I came across the knowledge about ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar) rinses, so I decided to do that. Surely Enough, it was exactly what I needed. The itchy irritation reduced by about 80%. So on the next wash day, I decided to do another ACV rinse to see if I could eliminate the itch instead of just reducing it. And trustingly, my second time around I was ITCH FREE, thanks to this natural kitchen aide remedy!

Whew! I tell you, that ITCH was killin‘ the Vibe! And taking HIH (hand in hair) syndrome to a whole new level, lol. But, if you’re having an itch that just seems to not want your hair to glow and be great, don’t worry one of these should help. However, if the itch is not going away and it seems to be causing blisters or other issues, please see your physician or dermatologist, as the problem may be something more that only they can help you control.

IMG-0043
Silicone Bristle Scalp Massaging Shampoo Brush

Thanks for taking the time to read my article, I really hope you are able to find a remedy that will solve your need within it. Have you ever had an itchy scalp? What did you do to get rid of the itch? Comment below.

If you are looking for a great scalp massager that will not scrap your scalp, thus protecting against bacterial growth, please check out our Easy Grip Silicone Bristle Scalp Massaging Shampoo Brush on our website @ Coilyhaircare.com. You can receive a first-time visitor 10% purchase discount by entering COILY1 at checkout. For additional discounts connect with us on Facebook, Twitter, and/or Instagram!

Until next time, Peace, Love, and Hydrate!

Precious

@Coilyhaircare

 

References

Featured Photo: Phenyo Deluxe. (2019). Woman Standing Near Wall [Photography], Retrieved from: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-standing-near-wall-2007413/